Admit it or not, we’ve all sent an accidental giant blue thumbs up, sent a message to a wrong group chat or your finger slipped on the wrong gif on Facebook Messenger. Moments like these make us instantly wished the ground would swallow us up. Thanks to Facebook Messenger we can now save ourselves from the shame.
On a press release, Facebook made the following announcement, “Starting today; we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger.”.
Messages can be removed for individual chats, and group conversations as users can opt to delete a message either just for themselves or for other persons they sent it to, Facebook said.
You can now use the unsend feature on your phone by holding down on your message. By clicking on the “Remove” option, two more choices will immediately pop up: You can either “Remove for you” or “Remove for everyone.” The latter will delete your message from the chat on both end.
Here’s the catch though, you can only remove a message within 10 minutes of sending it, and your tracks aren’t completely covered up. The deleted message will be replaced by note alerting everyone in the conversation that the text was removed.
Facebook owns the mobile messaging application used by more than a billion people. An “unsend” feature has been long available on rival chat platforms such as Viber and Telegram and the popular messaging app is finally catching up in allowing its users with the same feature.
Early last year, it was revealed that Facebook co-founder and chief executive Mark Zuckerberg, and seemingly other Facebook executives, was able to remove his sent messages. Shortly after that, the company announced its plans to develop an “unsend” feature.
The unsend messages feature is rolling out today on mobile devices all over the world powered by the latest versions of Apple or Android software, according to Facebook.