Supermoon 2013 Happening Sunday, Don’t Miss it [Livestream]

0

Next Super Moon

Sunday’s full moon will be the brightest and biggest of the year, known as a Supermoon.

A supermoon is a full moon that happens within 12 hours of the lunar perigree, or the point in the lunar orbit that brings the moon closest to Earth, explains Live Science.

Supermoons appear 14 percent larger and 30 percent brighter than when the moon is at apogee, which is when it’s furthest from Earth, according to Earth Sky.

On Sunday, June 23, at 7:32 a.m. EDT (1100 GMT), the moon will arrive at perigee — the point in its orbit its orbit bringing it closest to Earth, a distance of 221,824 miles.

While there are 4-6 supermoons a year on average, an extreme Supermoon is a rare event, occurring about every 13 or 14 months. The moon will not be this close again until August 2014.

ABC News broke it all down and explains, at perigee, the moon lies only 221,824 miles (356,991 kilometers) away. Two weeks later, on July 7, the moon will swing out to apogee – its farthest point for the month and year – at 252,581 miles (406,490 kilometers) distant.

There are scientific laws stating the moon affects the Earth in different ways, with one being tides.

For example Space.com states: for New York City, high water (6.3 feet) at The Battery comes at 8:58 p.m. EDT on Sunday, or more than 12 hours after perigee. From Cape Fear, N.C., the highest tide (6.5 feet) will be attained at 9:06 p.m. EDT on Monday, while at Boston Harbor a peak tide height of 12.3 feet comes at 12:48 a.m. EDT on Tuesday, almost 2 days after the time of perigee.

But what about weather, can the Supermoon affect that too?

AccuWeather Facebook fanpage member Daniel Vogler states, “The last extreme super moon occurred was on January 10th, 2005, right around the time of the 9.0 Indonesia earthquake. That extreme super moon was a new moon. So be forewarned. Something BIG could happen on or around this date. (+/- 3 Days is my guess)”

You can watch a free webcast of 2013 supermoon full moon below on Sunday at 9 p.m. EDT (0100 June 24), courtesy of the skywatching website Slooh Space Camera.

Super Moon — June 23, 2013

Time Zones :
WELLINGTON = Sun * 23th June 2013 * 11:32:18 pm (NZST)
SYDNEY = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 09:32:18 pm (AEST)
TOKYO = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 08:32:18 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 07:32:18 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 06:32:18 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 05:02:18 pm (IST)
MOSCOW = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 03:32:18 pm (MSK)
RIYADH = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 02:32:18 pm (AST)
BERLIN = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 01:32:18 pm (CEST)
LONDON = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 12:32:18 pm (BST)
RIO = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 08:32:18 am (BRT)
NEW YORK = Sunday * 23th June 2013 * 07:32:18 am (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Sun * 23th June 2013 * 06:32:18 am (CDT)
LOS ANGELES = Sun * 23th June 2013 * 04:32:18 am (PDT)
HONOLULU = Sun * 23th June 2013 * 01:32:18 am (HAST)

Full Perigree “Supermoon”

On the morning of June 23rd, 2013, in North America, the full Moon will be at its closest point to Earth of the entire year, known to astronomers as a perigee-syzygy Moon, and will appear about 12% larger in diameter than when it’s at the other side of its orbit, as it was on June 9th.  Watch it live here.

What Is A Supermoon?

When the Full Moon coincides with its closest approach to Earth, we get a “Supermoon’ also known as the Perigee Full Moon. The full Moon appeared about 14% larger and 30% brighter than others on May 5, 2012.

Related Stories:

Full Moon Perigee or Supermoon Will Occur Saturday, May 5, 2012
Lunar Eclipse December 2011 for the Last Time Until 2014
New Crater on Moon after NASA sees Biggest Explosion Ever by Meteor
Pluto Has How Many Moons? 10 More May be Undiscovered

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here