Yahoo Groups will be shutting down after more than 18 years. On December 14, Yahoo will be deleting all the content that has been posted on the platform.
Yahoo announced the addition of Groups to its platforms on January 30, 2001. At the time of its launch, Yahoo said the site would let users “build relationships, stay in touch, share ideas, and discuss interests through the convenience of popular email and Web-based tools.”
In 2010, Yahoo boasted that there were 10 million groups and 115 million users. The company also spoke about having contracts with about 100 carriers and phone makers around the world to preinstall Yahoo applications on their mobile devices.
Back then, Yahoo was making an effort to promote Yahoo Groups to users by highlighting its unique disadvantages over Facebook.
“On Facebook, if you have hundreds of friends, you have to be careful about posting something that might be offensive or just not relevant to somebody. With Yahoo Groups, you can start up a neighborhood page with a smaller group, for example, that would be of interest only to those neighbors living in the neighborhood,” said then Yahoo director of user experience, Greg Rosenberg.
In the 2010s, Yahoo’s business saw a decline including Yahoo Groups as social media networks took over.
With Yahoo’s decision to shut the services of Yahoo Groups down, it has sent a notice to users.
“Yahoo has made the decision to no longer allow users to upload content to the Yahoo Groups site. Beginning October 28, you won’t be able to upload any more content to the site, and as of December 14, all previously posted content on the site will be permanently removed. You’ll have until that date to save anything you’ve uploaded,” the company said in the notice.
The notice that was received by users has links to a Yahoo webpage where instructions on how to download files and photos from the groups they belong to before the cutoff date set can be found.
There are also links to a page that provides users with instructions on how to request for all of their Yahoo data. Requesting the process can take up to 30 days.
When the old content is deleted, users can only browse the directory of the groups they are part of. They can also request to be invited to one or if they already belong to a group, they can still send an email to that group.
According to Yahoo, by December 14, they will be removing content such as files, polls, links, photos, folders, and calendars. They will also be getting rid of attachments, database, email updates, conversations, message history, and message digest.