UNESCO Revealed Six New Sites To Join The World Heritage List

Credits: Sky News

More than 185,000 people visit Jodrell Bank per year, enough to include the famous landmark on the list of UNESCO’s World Heritage Site, making it as United Kingdom’s 32nd. 

Jodrell Bank Observatory, initially known as Jodrell Bank Experimental Station, is home to several radio telescopes and pioneered the science of radio astronomy that used radio waves instead of visible light to comprehend the complexity of the universe. It is also part of the Jodrell Bank Center for Astrophysics at the University of Manchester.

The observatory was first established by Bernard Lovell, a radio astronomer at the University of Manchester in 1945. His main reason for building the site is to investigate cosmic rays after working on radar during the Second World War.  Since then, it played a major role in the exploration of meteors, quasars, pulsars, gravitational lenses and actively participated in the tracking of space probes at the beginning of the Space Age.

At the center of the said observatory is the third largest dish radio telescope in the world known as the Lovell Telescope measuring 250 ft which tracked the first landing on the moon in 1966.

Jodrell is one of the many historical sites in the world that dreams of belonging in the prestigious list along with other famous landmarks like Taj Mahal and the Great Wall of China. Today, the world celebrates as UNESCO recently named a few sites to add on the World Heritage List.

A meeting took place in Baku last July 6 to finalize the plan of the Committee about adding six more cultural sites on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. The newly added sites came from Canada, Czechia, Germany, Republic of Korea, Myanmar and Poland.

Below is the list of the new sites (by order of inscription):

Bagan in Myanmar

Bagan in Myanmar is a sacred landscape found on a bend of Ayeyarwady River in the center of Myanmar. The site features a remarkable range of Buddhist art and architecture that reveal several temples stupas, monasteries, places of pilgrimage, archaeological remains as well as frescoes and sculptures.

What sets this place different from other famous landmark is its ability to preserve the Bagan civilization (11th–13th centuries CE) and showcase the site as the capital of a regional empire. The architectural ensembles reflect the religious strength and unity of an early Buddhist empire.

Seowon, Korean Neo-Confucian Academies (Republic of Korea)

This site is believed to comprise nine seowon which embody a type of Neo-Confucian academy of the Joseon Dynasty in 15th until 19 centuries CE.  It is located in central and Southern parts of the Republic of Korea, facing mountains and water sources. The pavilion style buildings were set to connect with nature as it believes in cultivating the mind and body

Writing-on-stone/Aisinai’pi (Canada)

This is located on the northern edge of Great Plains North America, between the border of Canada and the United States. The ancient people called Blackfoot who lived in the Milk River Valley created archaeological remains and left paintings on the sandstone walls — a proof that Sacred Beings exist at that time.

Erzgebirge/Krusnohori Mining Region (Czechia/Germany)

Also called as “Ore Mountains,” this land became the source of silver Ore in Europe from 1460-1560. The cultural landscape of the site has been influenced by its incessant mining since the 12th century until today. It pioneered water management systems, advanced mineral processing, smelting sites, and mining cities.

Water Management System of Augsburg (Germany)

This landscape comprises of a network of canals, water towers way back 15th to 17th centuries, water cooling systems, hydroelectric power stations which continue to provide sustainable energy today. The water management system has brought Ausburg into fame and became a founder in hydraulic engineering.

Krzemionki Prehistoric Striped Flint Mining Region (Poland)

It is an ensemble of four mining sites created since the Neolithic Age to the Bronze Age, (3900 1600 BCE). The site featured 4,000 shafts and pits inside a prehistoric underground flint extraction. It is living proof of prehistoric settlements and flint mining al through human history.

These newly named UNESCO sites added on their list to promote cultural awareness and diversity among countries. The organization also hopes that the new addition will transform people’s understanding of ancient lives and historical facts that help shape our future.

You can view the complete description of UNESCO’s official website at whc.unesco.org.

Currently, there are 1,100 known World Heritage Sites worldwide. The organization still has several sites to add and will meet for the 43rd session on July 10 to further discuss the inscription.

Be the first to comment on "UNESCO Revealed Six New Sites To Join The World Heritage List"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.