What Time is the Presidential Debate Tonight? 9:00 pm EST (Live Stream)

ad1

Debate Time

The second Presidential debate tonight between President Barack Obama and Republican Mitt Romney will take place at Hofstra University on Long Island, in New York.

The debate tonight will be 90 minutes long and is scheduled for a start time at 9:00 p.m. EST (8:00 p.m. CST, 7:00 p.m. MST, or 6:00 p.m. PST). We have embedded the live stream below for you to watch, but otherwise you’ll be able to find the Presidential debate on channels: ABC, NBC, FOX, CBS, CNN, Fox News, MSNBC and more including CNN Espanol and others.

2nd Presidential Debate 2012 Live Stream

Watch live coverage from Hempstead, N.Y., of the town hall presidential debate between Barack Obama and Mitt Romney.

Here are more details about tonight’s debate:

Topic: Town hall meeting format that includes foreign and domestic policy
Air Time: 9:00-10:30 p.m. Eastern Time
Location: Hofstra University in Hempstead, New York
Participants: President Barack Obama and Mitt Romney
Moderator: Candy Crowley (CNN Chief Political Correspondent)
Sponsor: Commission on Presidential Debates

The second presidential debate tonight is going to be in the form of a town hall meeting. What does that mean? It’s where citizens will ask questions about topics that the candidates will have to answer, along the side of the topics of foreign and domestic issues.

The candidates will have 2 minutes to answer. There will be an additional minute for the moderator to facilitate some type of discussion.

You might ask, how does a person’s question get to be the chosen one. The town meeting participants or audience members are undecided voters selected by the Gallup Organization. They are also all “undecided” voters (in the vital, neither-blue-nor-red swing state of New York). These preselected audience members will be called upon to ask questions on basically any topic they choose.

Prior to the debate tonight, the moderator will ask the audience members to submit their questions in writing. There will be balance of questions about foreign policy and national security and domestic and economic policy.

Before the debate goes on air, the moderator will instruct these audience members not to applaud, speak (unless the moderator calls upon a member to ask the question), or otherwise participate in the presidential debate in any way other than to observe in silence.

Presidential Debate Preview

Debate Tonight: Get Active

CNN’s Alex Wellen explains how ‘Clip and Share’ technology helps anyone create their own presidential debate highlights.

Related Stories:

VP Debate Time is 9pm EST on October 11th, 2012
SNL VP Debate Skit: Biden vs Ryan (Video)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *