NCAA Division I College World Series kicks off Friday June 15th, 2012

College World Series 2012

College sport traditions are what make college sports so captivating around the nation. You have players and coaches cutting down the nets in college basketball, Teams kissing the crystal ball when they are crowed BSC National Champions, and teams sharing their Nation Championship trophy skating around an ice rink. When it comes to college sport tournaments March Madness tops the cake, and the Frozen Four has been given more and more attention over the past few years. There is one college sport tournament that has been gaining thousands of loyal fans each year, and has not moved its tournament location in over 60 years and that is the NCAA Division I College World Series.

What started back in 1950 has blossomed into the annual nationally recognize tournament that it is today. This tournament is unique unlike any other college tournament, the city and business leaders of Omaha made it possible to continue the long tradition of having the College World Series in their city when the partnered up with the NCAA.  Omaha has its own non-profit organization called the College World Series of Omaha, Inc., and it is geared towards maintaining community support for the tournament and its fans.

The group itself has molded into a dedicated group of people that actually meets every month, to discuss new policies and ideas to make each year tournament successful according to the College World Series of Omaha. This year tournament is set to kick off Friday, June 15 and will run until June 25, 26 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb. This location was designated the new Spot for the College World Series after the 2010 season, as the previous history of the world series had been played at Rosenblatt Stadium also in Omaha, Neb.

The tournament has a tendency to have a “Unknown” team make a magical run to a National Championship almost every year, this year Stony Brook will put on their Cinderella sleepers with hopes of taking home the school first ever world series title. For Stony Brook this may be un-familiar territory as it is the school’s first ever trip to the College World Series.

The tournament will be made up of eight teams that have played their way into the tournament and endure a long grueling season of college baseball. UCLA, Florida, Florida State, Arizona, and Stony Brook have already punched their ticket to Omaha, the other three teams will be determined later this week.  Six teams will duke it out for three spots in the tournament, winners of Oregon vs, Kent State, South Carolina vs, Oklahoma, and Baylor vs, Arkansas will advance on to complete the eight team format.  Make sure to tune into ESPN to see which of these teams will make it, and check out the College World Series action this Friday June 15.

College World Series: the Teams, the City

College World Series: the Teams, the Stadiums. we will miss You Rosenblatt Stadium And Welcome to Omaha, Ameritrade Park.

Be the first to comment on "NCAA Division I College World Series kicks off Friday June 15th, 2012"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.