Daytona 500 Winner in 2012 is Matt Kenseth

Daytona 500 winner in 2012 Matt Kenseth

Best Buy 17 Car Matt KensethOne of history’s most bizarre Dayton 500 races has produced a two time Daytona 500 Winner. After all of the crazy events, delays and flags during this race the Daytona 500 winner in 2012 is Matt Kenseth.

Matt Kenseth also won the Daytona 500 in 2009 at an average speed of 132.816 and took home $1,530,388 racing with a Ford. The official numbers haven’t been released by the Daytona International Speedway but ESPN has Mr. Kenseth’s average speed after the final restart at 188.269 MPH, Dale Earnhardt Jr’s average speed at 188.253 and Greg Biffle’s at 187.966.

This would have been Dale Earnhardt Jr’s second Daytona 500 race that he won but he just couldn’t seem to pass Matt Kenseth. Mr. Earnhardt Jr. was quoted as saying, “We couldn’t ever get to Matt, so I just tried to pull out to get the second spot if I could.” The Best Buy 17 car had an ability to keep speed in front but was having trouble in traffic as Kenseth had mentioned in an interview.

Kenseth revealed how he pulled off the feat to become 2012’s Daytona 500 winner in the end. Biffle was trying hard to get close the Kenseth in the final lap of the race but Dale Earnhardt Jr. was right on the back bumper of Biffle and kept him from connecting with Kenseth. Kenseth said about the situation, “They just couldn’t get attached, and I could get away from them. It just came down to whoever was in the front, and he had a really fast car as well.” The Best Buy #17 Car was in front by the last lap and that’s who finished bringing Matt Kenseth his #2 Daytona 500 2012 winner title.

The winners and the losers of the Daytona 500 this year will all be dubbed under the events and situations that transpired during this long race as it was rain delayed all the way until Monday night on Fox. Some have started labeling this Dayton 500 as the James Taylor 500 of Fire and Rain.

Also on

Daytona 500 fire created by Jet Dryer crash with Juan Pablo Montoya’s #42 Car

The final results for the Daytona 500 are:

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
3. Greg Biffle
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Jeff Burton
6. Paul Menard
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Carl Edwards
9. Joey Logano
10. Mark Martin
11. Clint Bowyer
12. Martin Truex Jr.
13. Marcos Ambrose
14. Bobby Labonte
15. Dave Blaney
16. Tony Stewart
17. Kyle Busch
18. Terry Labonte
19. Tony Raines
20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
21. Ryan Newman
22. Landon Cassill
23. David Gilliland
24. Regan Smith
25. Casey Mears
26. David Reutimann
27. Elliott Sadler
28. Joe Nemechek
29. Kasey Kahne
30. Michael McDowell
31. Jamie McMurray
32. Brad Keselowski
33. Aric Almirola
34. AJ Allmendinger
35. Trevor Bayne
36. Juan Pablo Montoya
37. David Stremme
38. Danica Patrick
39. Kurt Busch
40. Jeff Gordon
41. Robby Gordon
42. Jimmie Johnson
43. David Ragan

Be the first to comment on "Daytona 500 Winner in 2012 is Matt Kenseth"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.